The Importance of Certifications

//The Importance of Certifications

Like many companies, your business may be migrating to the cloud, building new systems or solutions in the cloud, or both. Businesses are moving to cloud computing because it’s economical, scalable, fast, and advanced—with more and better features than conventional technology. With cloud computing, companies can avoid extensive integration and maintenance efforts, because cloud services offer nearly everything you need in a single platform.

Cloud-certified professionals

Whether you’re designing a new, cloud-based system or solution or moving an existing application to the cloud, you’ll likely need the help of IT professionals with cloud experience. When choosing expert help, it’s best to look for someone who is certified in the cloud services you’ve selected.

Amazon Web Services, the most dominant of the current cloud providers, launched its AWS certification program in May 2013. The program offers role-based credentials at the associate and professional levels, along with specialty certifications in big data and security. AWS certifications prepare candidates for developer, operations, and architect roles. AWS certifications include:

  • AWS Certified Solutions Architect, Associate. Knows how to design, manage, and distribute applications using AWS tools.
  • AWS Certified Developer, Associate. Has proven, code-level knowledge of AWS application design, development, and maintenance, as well as comprehensive knowledge of the AWS architecture.
  • AWS Certified SysOps Administrator, Associate. Knows how to deploy and operate AWS architecture and services and has basis system administrator skills in security, provisioning, and systems management.
  • AWS Certified Solutions Architect, Professional. Has completed the AWS Certified Solutions Architect certification exam and has two or more years of experience in designing and deploying AWS cloud architectures. Also has demonstrated knowledge of complex AWS applications.
  • AWS Certified DevOps Engineer, Professional. Has completed the Associate-level AWS Certified Developer or AWS Certified SysOps Administrator certification exams and has two or more years of experience in provisioning and managing AWS architectures. Understands specific concepts related to the continuous deployment and automation of AWS processes and knows how to implement them into AWS architectures.

A preferred AWS provider

Having worked with AWS for a number of years, Xtensifi has come to appreciate the full breadth of features and capabilities available in AWS—and thus to recognize the value of AWS certifications.

These certifications have allowed our team members to become familiar with all of the many services AWS offers. That way, we can design a comprehensive, robust cloud solution that takes full advantage of AWS’s capabilities. We also stay up to date on AWS systems—which, like all technology, change often—since AWS requires certified professionals to be recertified every two years.

Other certifications

Of course, AWS is not the only cloud provider out there. Microsoft Azure, Google Cloud, IBM SoftLayer, and many others also provide robust, secure cloud services. As this Business News Daily article notes, certifications are available in these cloud services, too, as are vendor-neutral cloud certifications.

No matter which cloud services you choose, it’s important to get design help from IT professionals who have expertise and experience in designing for those services. Ideally, those professionals should be certified. Then you can be assured that your system is designed to maximize the features and benefits the cloud service has to offer, and that it’s secure and up to date.

%d bloggers like this: